How you can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon


Oregon has had medical and leisure marijuana legal guidelines on the books since voters authorised the Medical Marijuana Act in 1998 and the Management, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act in 2014. Beneath the medical marijuana regulation, cannabis cultivation, possession, and use are legalized for sufferers with a medical card. If you happen to’re focused on making use of for a medical cannabis card, you’ll need to undergo the Oregon Well being Authority’s software course of.

Advantages of a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon

A mass exodus of medical marijuana sufferers and growers in Oregon occurred after grownup legalization. Sufferers began questioning whether or not it’s value it to pay the excessive software price. Many sufferers left this system regardless of abandoning the perk of not having to pay gross sales tax on their purchases. Leisure customers should pay a 20 % retail tax on cannabis purchases.

There are a lot of explanation why it’s your decision a medical marijuana card in Oregon. Heavy customers or those that require excessive buying and possession limits can profit from a medical card. Customers that dwell in residences and may’t develop their very own weed can even profit from a medical cannabis card. You may also buy significantly extra cannabis at a medical dispensary than a leisure person can at an adult-use pot store. As well as, you possibly can develop extra weed vegetation than leisure customers with a medical card.

Qualifying Situations in Oregon

Beneath Oregon’s medical marijuana legal guidelines, people with a qualifying situation should purchase, use, and develop medical marijuana in the event that they get hold of a medical marijuana advice from a licensed doctor. Qualifying medical circumstances embody:

  • Most cancers
  • Extreme ache
  • Extreme nausea
  • Seizures from epilepsy or different medical circumstances
  • Glaucoma
  • Publish-traumatic stress dysfunction (PTSD)
  • Degenerative or pervasive neurological problems
  • A medical situation or remedy that causes one of many following signs:
    • Weight reduction
    • Extreme ache
    • Extreme nausea
    • Seizures
    • Persistent muscle spasms

Medical Card Utility Course of in Oregon

If you wish to develop into a affected person or caregiver, you could undergo a number of steps to obtain an Oregon medical marijuana card. You will need to first get a medical marijuana advice from a marijuana physician who will decide should you qualify for medical marijuana use. After getting the advice, you possibly can apply for a medical marijuana card in Oregon on-line or by mail. If you happen to’re going the net route, you’ll need to create an account and full an software at

You may also ship in your medical card software or renewal kind together with any required documentation to OHA/OMMP, P.O. Field 14450, Portland, OR 927293-0450. Right here’s what you’ll must ship in by way of mail:

  • Accomplished OMMP software kind
  • Attending doctor’s assertion (should be signed inside 90 days of software date)
  • Copies of legitimate photograph ID (driver’s license, passport, state ID card, army ID, tribal photograph ID)
  • Verify or cash order payable to OHA/OMMP

After you apply and submit all of the required documentation, the OMMP will ship you a receipt letter that can be utilized rather than a medical card for 30 days following the date on the letter. The OMMP will confirm your info and mail you and your caregiver a card, if authorised. Your complete course of can take as much as 30 days from the second you flip in your software to the second you obtain your card.


It prices $200 to use for or renew a medical marijuana card in Oregon. Sufferers who belong to the Supplemental Diet Help Program (SNAP) or the Oregon Well being Plan can have their software feeds decreased. If you happen to’re a SNAP affected person, you’ll pay $60, whereas Oregon Well being Plan members pay $50. Veterans and people on Supplementary Safety Earnings can qualify for a $20 software price. You solely must submit proof for only one decreased price, ideally the bottom one. It may value $100 to switch a card or you possibly can pay $20 should you certified for a $20 decreased price.


Sufferers underneath the age of 18 will need to have a father or mother or guardian fill out a notarized Minor Declaration Kind so as to get hold of a medical marijuana card in Oregon.

Discovering a Major Caregiver

In Oregon, you should be 18 years of age or older to be a main caregiver for a medical marijuana affected person. Major caregivers are people who’ve “vital accountability for managing the well-being of an individual who has been identified with a debilitating medical situation.” You’ll be able to designate a main caregiver on the appliance for a medical card. Your main caregiver doesn’t need to pay any software price.

Shopping for Medical Marijuana

As of January 1, 2017, medical marijuana retailers can solely promote cannabis merchandise to registered OMMP sufferers and caregivers. You may also designate somebody over 21 to be your grower or develop it your self. Earlier than grownup legalization, medical marijuana dispensaries had been aplenty. After legalization, medical marijuana dispensaries dwindled to solely three: HWY 30 Hashish, Lionheart Medical Membership, and Western Oregon Dispensary. Right here’s the place you could find these Oregon medical marijuana dispensaries:

  • HWY 30 Hashish; 1709 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850
  • Lionheart Medical Membership; 1105 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415
  • Western Oregon Dispensary; 15025 SW Tualatin Sherwood Rd, Sherwood, OR 97140

Possession Limits

If you happen to’re a medical marijuana affected person in Colorado, you’re legally allowed to own as much as six mature vegetation and 12 immature vegetation at a time. You may also possess the next quantities of cannabis:

  • 24 ounces of usable cannabis
  • 16 ounces of medical cannabinoids in stable kind
  • 72 fluid ounces of medical cannabinoids in liquid kind
  • 16 ounces of focus
  • 5 grams of cannabinoid extracts
  • four immature cannabis vegetation
  • 50 seeds

Out-of-State Sufferers

Are you visiting the good state of Oregon and wish to partake of their medical program? Sadly, Oregon doesn’t have reciprocity guidelines for medical sufferers from different states. That signifies that your authorized medical marijuana card received’t be accepted by a licensed Oregon medical dispensary. The one solution to buy cannabis should you’re from one other state is to buy at a leisure store should you’re over 21.

Oregon’s medical affected person depend was considerably impacted by leisure legalization. Reviews point out that as much as two-thirds of sufferers stopped renewing their medical playing cards. Presently, about 28,000 Oregon sufferers depend on a number of medical dispensaries and proceed to battle with rising prices and fewer product choices. Lawmakers have made medical cannabis supply a actuality to extend entry to underserved areas. To study extra concerning the ever-changing legal guidelines in Oregon and different states, join Hashish Coaching College’s Grasp of Hashish Certification on-line right now.


Latest posts